Find or Sell Motorcycles & Scooters in USA

Isle of Man TT 2014: Bikenation Lightweight TT Results

Fri, 06 Jun 2014

Dean Harrison won his first Isle of Man TT race, taking the three-lap Bikenation Lightweight TT by 14.6 seconds.

Harrison took the lead early, having the fastest time through Glen Helen ahead of last year’s Lightweight TT winner James Hillier by about half a second. Harrison stretched the lead to 9.7 seconds by the end of the first lap.

Most of the riders opted to enter the pits after the opening lap including Harrison. One of the few who did not was Michael Russell, moving him up from eighth to third behind Harrison and Hillier. That strategy did not pan out however, as Russell dropped back to sixth by the end of Lap 2 before he finally went to refuel. His race ended shortly after, when he retired before the second milestone.

By that point, Hillier had cut Harrison’s lead to 7.3 seconds, but by Glen Helen Harrison had pulled away again, establishing an 18-second gap. Harrison would continue to win by 14.6 seconds, with an average speed of 117.460 mph.

2014 Isle of Man TT: Lightweight TT Top Five Results Pos. Rider Machine/Team Time Speed 1 Dean Harrison RC Express Kawasaki 57:49.129 117.460 mph 2 James Hillier Quattro Plant Muc-Off Kawasaki 58:03.755 116.967 mph 3 James Cowton Stewart Smith Kawasaki 58:12.754 116.666 mph 4 Keith Amor KMR Kawasaki 58:16.164 123.946 mph 5 Jamie Hamilton Stewart Smith Kawasaki 58:44.190 115.625 mph


By Dennis Chung

See also: Isle of Man TT 2014: PokerStars Senior TT Results, Isle of Man TT 2014: Sure Sidecar TT 2 Results, Isle of Man TT 2014: Monster Supersport TT 2 Results.