Find or Sell Motorcycles & Scooters in USA

Isle of Man TT 2014: PokerStars Senior TT Results

Fri, 06 Jun 2014

Michael Dunlop won his fourth race of the 2014 Isle of Man TT and 11th in his career, capping off this year’s event by taking the PokerStars Senior TT. It is the second-consecutive year that Dunlop has won four races in a single TT, this time capturing the Senior, Superbike, Superstock, and the second Supersport TT races.

It took a while for Dunlop to get going. It was actually his older brother, William Dunlop, who took the early lead on the first lap, setting the fastest time at the first timing point at Glen Helen. Conor Cummins was second by 1.3 seconds followed by Guy Martin, Lightweight TT winner Dean Harrison, John McGuinness and James Hillier.

Michael Dunlop was back in seventh place at Glen Helen but then he began to close the gap. By the next timing point at Ramsey, Dunlop was just a second behind his brother. At the end of the lap, the younger Dunlop had moved into the lead, holding a 0.876-second lead over Martin with Cummins and the elder Dunlop close behind.

Dunlop continued to fly over the second lap, setting a new Senior TT record with a time of 17:11.591 (averaging a speed of 131.668 mph), increasing his lead to 7.7 seconds over William Dunlop before they headed to the pit.

William Dunlop’s race ended on Lap 3 with a crash at the Les Graham Memorial. Dunlop was taken to Nobles Hospital where he was treated for what is believed to be a broken leg. Another front runner Harrison also retired on Lap 3.

Michael Dunlop continued to lead, holding a 9.5-second lead over Cummins after four laps as the racers entered the pit for fresh fuel and tires for the second time. Returning to the track for Lap 5, Dunlop found himself running along Hillier, McGuinness and Martin but managed to make his way through to the front and continue to stretch his lead.

Dunlop would finish with a time of 1:45:33.291, exactly 12 seconds ahead of Cummins with Martin rounding out the podium another 9.7 seconds behind.

2014 Isle of Man TT: Senior TT Top Five Results Pos. Rider Machine/Team Time Speed 1 Michael Dunlop Hawk Racing BMW 1:45:33.291 128.680 mph 2 Conor Cummins Honda Racing 1:45:47.291 128.396 mph 3 Guy Martin Tyco Suzuki 1:45:56.962 128.201 mph 4 Bruce Anstey Valvoline Honda 1:46:20.814 127.722 mph 5 James Hillier Quattro Plant Muc-Off Kawasaki 1:46:22.262 127.693 mph


By Dennis Chung

See also: The New Fastest Electric Motorcycle Lap, With John McGuinness + Video, Isle of Man TT 2014: Bikenation Lightweight TT Results, Isle of Man TT 2014: Sure Sidecar TT 2 Results.