Find or Sell Motorcycles & Scooters in USA

Yamaha’s Dennis McNeal Named Chair of Motorcycle Industry Council

Tue, 04 Mar 2014

The Motorcycle Industry Council (MIC) has named Dennis McNeal as the new chair of its board of directors. McNeal, the vice president of motorcycle operations for Yamaha Motor Corp. U.S.A., will take over the chairman position from Mark Blackwell, the retiring vice president of Polaris Industries.

McNeal (pictured standing above in the dark shirt) will lead the industry trade association’s board of directors along with returning vice-chair Jon-Erik Burleson of KTM-North America. Larry Little of Marketplace Events Motorcycle Group was elected as the board’s new secretary and treasurer.

“I’m honored to be elected as the chair of the MIC, just as the organization begins its second century of vital work preserving, protecting and promoting motorcycling,” says McNeal. “This is an exciting time for the industry’s trade association, with great potential ahead, and an excellent team of veterans and fresh talent on the board and among MIC staff assembled to take on challenges and opportunities.”

Blackwell was appointed as chair in 2013 but is retiring from both the MIC and Polaris. After a successful career as a racer in the ’70s and three decades as an executive with Husqvarna, Suzuki, Arctic Cat and Polaris, Blackwell says he will be devoting more time to his wife Patti and son Brett.

“Mark Blackwell was, and will remain, a tremendous asset to the MIC,” says McNeal. “His vast industry experience, genuine enthusiasm and leadership skills were greatly appreciated over the past year, particularly as the MIC embarked on expanded initiatives such as the new class of MIC membership for dealers and retailers nationwide.”

The MIC Board of Directors also welcomes the addition of Steve Menneto, vice president of motorcycles with Polaris, Sarah Schilke, marketing and public relations at Schuberth North America to new two-year terms on the board. Little was also reappointed to another two-year term.

They join the following continuing board members:

Hans Blesse, vice president, BMW Motorrad USA Steve Bortolamedi, senior communications manager, Suzuki Motor of America, Inc. Russ Brenan, senior advisor, government relations and public affairs at Kawasaki Motors Corp., U.S.A. Don Emde, owner/president of Don Emde, Inc. Frank Esposito, president at Kendon Industries, Inc. Robert Gurga, vice president, motorcycle division, American Honda Motor Co., Inc. Steve Johnson, of Tucker Rocky Distributing

[Source: MIC]

By Dennis Chung

See also: Pro Racing Heading To The West Coast After All, 2014 AMA Supercross Indianapolis Results, Yamaha Files Trademark Application for FJ-09.