Find or Sell Motorcycles & Scooters in USA

Isle of Man TT 2013: SES TT Zero Results

Wed, 05 Jun 2013

Motoczysz captured its fourth consecutive TT Zero at the 2013 Isle of Man TT, setting a new official record for electric motorcycles by averaging 109.675 mph on the Mountain Course.

Michael Rutter piloted the Motoczysz E1PC to a lap time of 20:38.461 for his third straight TT Zero win. Finishing second as he did last year was John McGuinness on the Mugen Shinden Ni, with a time just 1.6 seconds slower than Rutter, with an average speed of 109.527 mph.

Other notable results include third-place finisher Robert Barber on Ohio State University‘s Buckeye Current electric motorcycle team. With an average speed of 90.403 mph, the student-run team set the ninth fastest time in TT Zero history. The Buckeye team benefited from the experience of Barber who won the TTXGP-organzied electric motorcycle race on the Isle of Man in 2009.

Isle of Man TT 2013: SES TT Zero Results
Pos. Rider Machine/Team Time Avg. Speed 1 Michael Rutter MotoCzysz E1PC 20:38.461 109.675 mph 2 John McGuinness Mugen Shinden Ni 20:40.133 109.527 mph 3 Robert Barber Ohio State University RW-2 25:02.467 90.403 mph 4 George Spence Kingston University 25:41.822 88.096 mph 5 Chris Mcgahan Vercamoto Yamaha R6E 26:59.755 83.857 mph 6 Ian Lougher Komatti Mirai KMI 27:46.300 81.515 mph 7 David Madsen-Mygdal Imperial 31:26.933 71.983 mph 8 Paul Owen Brunei University BX 31:33.387 71.738 mph

[Source: IOMTT]

By Dennis Chung

See also: Isle of Man TT 2013: Monster Energy Supersport Race 2 Results, Yamaha Auctioning Cal Crutchlow’s Leathers To Benefit Oklahoma Relief Fund, Isle of Man TT 2013: Dainese Superbike Race Results.