Find or Sell Motorcycles & Scooters in USA

Isle of Man TT 2013: Lightweight TT Race Results

Fri, 07 Jun 2013

James Hillier set new lap time and race time records in a dominating victory in the Lightweight TT race for the 2013 Isle of Man TT. All three of the Kawasaki rider’s lap times were faster than the previous lap record for the Lightweight TT class, for a record overall time of 57:42.245 and average speed of 117.694 mph.

The race started with another Kawasaki rider (the class is dominated with Kawasaki Ninja 650s with a few Suzuki SV650s) Dean Harrison taking the early lead through the Glen Helen viewpoint but Hillier was right on his tail about half a second behind. It didn’t take long however before Hiller took over the lead, finishing the first lap with a record average speed 117.959 mph.

Most riders opted to refuel after the first lap including Hillier, allowing Ivan Lintin, who decided not to head to the pits, to take the lead. Hillier left the pit with a 14 seconds deficit but quickly gained speed and finished the second lap with a 3.5 second lead. Even with a pit stop, Hillier’s second-lap average speed of 116.037 mph would have been a lap record if it weren’t for his record first lap.

Lintin went to refuel at the start of the final lap, giving Hillier a commanding 21-second lead over Harrison through Glen Helen. Hillier would go on and shatter his own record lap with a time of 19:00.168 for an average speed of 119.130 mph.

Harrison would finish in second followed by Conor Cummins, all riding Kawasaki machines. John McGuinness and Michael Dunlop were scheduled to compete in the race in the Isle of Man TT debut of the Honda CBR500R but withdrew in order to focus instead on the Senior TT to be held later in the day.

Isle of Man TT 2013: Lightweight Top Five Finishers Pos. Rider Machine/Team Time Avg. Speed 1 James Hillier Quattro Plant Kawasaki 57:42.2450 117.694 mph 2 Dean Harrison Stuart Smith Kawasaki 58:15.763 116.565 mph 3 Conor Cummins KMR Kawasaki 58:38.909 115.798 mph 4 Ivan Lintin Mckinstry Kawasaki 58:43.135 115.659 mph 5 Jamie Hamilton KMR Kawasaki 58:50.911 115.405 mph

[Source: IOMTT]

By Dennis Chung

See also: Isle of Man TT 2013: PokerStars Senior TT Race Results, Isle of Man TT 2013: PokerStars Senior TT Race Results, 2014 Suzuki Burgman 200 Gets CARB Approval.