Find or Sell Motorcycles & Scooters in USA

2014 AMA Supercross Schedule Announced

Mon, 06 May 2013

With the 2013 season now complete, Feld Motorsportsand the International Motorcycling Federation have released its schedule for the 2014 AMA Supercross Championship.

The 2014 season will again feature 17 rounds held at baseball and football stadiums but there are some changes from this past season. The season will again start the first weekend in January with the first of three rounds at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, Calif., and end the beginning of May at Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas, Nev.

Dropped from the schedule are Rice-Eccles Stadium in Salt Lake City, Utah, and the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome which is scheduled for demolition in February. Taking their places will be Ford Field in Detroit, Mich., and MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, N.J.

Also absent from the calendar is Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles which was originally part of the 2013 schedule but later replaced by Angel Stadium as the ballpark underwent renovations.

The MetLife Stadium round adds a venue from the New York Metropolitan area. The home of the N.Y. Giants and the N.Y. Jets replaced the Meadowlands which hosted Supercross in the late ’80s and ’90s.

“Monster Energy Supercross is in the midst of the most competitive eras of racing weve ever seen,” says Charlie Mancuso, President, Feld Motor Sports. “With 40 incredible seasons behind us, we look ahead to continue bringing the best racing on the planet to new markets and new audiences across North America. The sport is at an all-time high in terms of attendance, popularity, and media exposure, so its only natural that we continue to expand to the largest media market in the world New York.”

Detroit last hosted the AMA Supercross Championship in 2008, with Davi Millsaps taking the victory at Ford Field. The home of the Detroit Lions has previously hosted three Supercross events after replacing the Pontiac Silverdome which hosted the series for 29 years.

2014 AMA Supercross Schedule Date Venue City January 4 Angel Stadium Anaheim, Calif. January 11 Chase Field Phoenix, Ariz. January 18 Angel Stadium Anaheim, Calif. January 25 O.Co Coliseum Oakland, Calif. February 1 Angel Stadium Anaheim, Calif. February 8 Qualcomm Stadium San Diego, Calif. February 15 Cowboys Stadium Arlington, Texas February 22 Georgia Dome Atlanta, Ga. March 1 Lucas Oil Stadium Indianapolis, Ind. March 8 Daytona International Speedway Daytona Beach, Fla. March 15 Ford Field Detroit, Mich. March 22 Rogers Centre Toronto, Canada March 29 Edward Jones Dome St. Louis, Mo. April 5 Reliant Stadium Houston, Texas April 12 CenturyLink Field Seattle, Wash. April 26 MetLife Stadium East Rutherford, N.J. May 3 Sam Boyd Stadium Las Vegas, Nev.

[Source: AMA Supercross; Photo by Cudby S.]

By Dennis Chung

See also: Brammo Earns Seventh Place Against Gas Bikes, 2013 AMA Supercross Salt Lake City Race Report, WSBK 2013: Assen Race Report.