Find or Sell Motorcycles & Scooters in USA

2014 AMA Supercross Houston Results

Tue, 08 Apr 2014

Ryan Villopoto ran mostly unchallenged for his fourth win of the 2014 AMA Supercross season, taking advantage of an early spill by Ryan Dungey. The win strengthens Villopoto’s hold on the points lead as the Kawasaki rider seeks his fourth-consecutive championship.

Villopoto took the holeshot in the Houston main event and never looked back, leading all 20 laps for the win. Villopoto won handily by 13.669 seconds; he was so fast, he lapped all but six racers that finished the race.

The three-time reigning champion benefited from a couple of early incidents that slowed his chief rivals for the title, Red Bull KTM‘s Dungey and James Stewart of Yoshimura Suzuki. An ailing Stewart just avoided going down before the first turn after getting clipped by fellow Suzuki rider Josh Hill. Dungey had even more difficulty, crashing moments later in the rhythm section after Suzuki rider Weston Peick swayed into his path. Both Stewart and Dungey were able to continue, but both were never able to challenge for a podium.

Team Honda Muscle Milk rider Justin Barcia‘s solid season continued with another second-place finish while KTM rookie Ken Roczen finished third for his seventh podium of the year.

2014 AMA Supercross: Houston 450 Top Five Results Pos. Rider Manufacturer Time 1 Ryan Villopoto Kawasaki - 2 Justin Barcia Honda +13.669 3 Ken Roczen KTM +23.248 4 Trey Canard Honda +32.684 5 James Stewart Suzuki +38.482

The 250 Western Regional class resumed in Houston with Rockstar Energy KTM rider Jason Anderson extending his championship lead by taking his third win in seven rounds.

Troy Lee Designs Honda rider Jessy Nelson took the holeshot but Anderson soon took control, followed by Kawasaki teammates Dean Wilson and Justin Hill. Those three lead riders held their positions for the first four laps before a mistake by Hill dropped him to eighth. That promoted Nelson’s teammate Malcolm Stewart (James’ brother) into third.

Anderson held off his competitors, withstanding a late challenge by Wilson to take the victory. Wilson was just 0.797 seconds behind in second while Stewart finished third.

2014 AMA Supercross: Houston 250 Western Regional Top Five Results Pos. Rider Manufacturer Time 1 Jason Anderson KTM - 2 Dean Wilson Kawasaki +5.736 3 Malcolm Stewart Honda +11.677 4 Cole Seely Honda +18.704 5 Zach Osborne Honda +35.340

The 2014 AMA Supercross Championship continues April 12 in Seattle, Wash., with Villopoto getting a chance to clinch the title in his home town. Villopoto leads James Stewart by 45 points and Dungey by 46 with three rounds to go. If Villopoto outscores Stewart by six points and Dungey by seven points, that will give him enough of a cushion to win the title, no matter what happens in the final two rounds.

450 Class Top Five Standings 250 West Class Top Five Standings Pos. Rider Manufacturer Points Rider Manufacturer Points 1 Ryan Villopoto Kawasaki 293 Jason Anderson KTM 156 2 James Stewart Suzuki 248 Cole Seely Honda 145 3 Ryan Dungey KTM 247 Dean Wilson Kawasaki 120 4 Ken Roczen KTM 235 Justin Hill Kawasaki 119 5 Justin Barcia Honda 196 Malcolm Stewart Honda 109

[Source: AMA Supercross]

By Dennis Chung

See also: American Honda Played A Big Role In Bringing Nicky Hayden Back To Team Red, Kevin Schwantz Once Again Wearing RS Taichi, Kevin Schwantz Once Again Wearing RS Taichi.