Find or Sell Motorcycles & Scooters in USA

2014 AMA Supercross – Daytona Results

Mon, 10 Mar 2014

Ryan Villopoto was dominant in Daytona, leading all 20 laps to win his third race of the season. The Monster Energy Kawasaki ride strengthened his hold on the 2014 AMA Supercross championship lead, padding his lead over Red Bull KTM riders Ryan Dungey and Ken Roczen.

The reigning three-time champion was far and away the fastest racer on the Daytona International Speedway infield, posting lap times more than a second faster than anyone else. Villopoto twice posted lap times faster than 1:04.200, while the rest of the field was led by TwoTwo Motorsports Kawasaki rider Dean Wilson who clocked a lap at 1:05.378.

Villopoto built up a lead as wide as 17.8 seconds, giving him enough of a cushion that a fall on Lap 13 made little impact on the final result.

“Whenever you have a fall like that, all that’s running through your mind is ‘Don’t stall the bike and get up as quick as you can and take off,’ ” says Villopoto. “Luckily I had a nice lead and I was able to get up and regroup.”

Villopoto’s effort was so strong, it’s hard to believe the win was his first in six rounds, his longest drought since an injury prematurely ended his championship 2012 season.

Wilson was impressive in just his second 450 race as a replacement for the injured Chad Reed. The class rookie sat in second place for the first 14 laps before the combined efforts of Dungey and Roczen proved too much. The two KTM riders passed Wilson on Lap 15 and held on to complete the podium.

2014 AMA Supercross: Daytona 450 Top Five Results Pos. Rider Manufacturer Time 1 Ryan Villopoto Kawasaki - 2 Ken Roczen KTM +12.632 3 Ryan Dungey KTM +16.835 4 Broc Tickle Suzuki +25.423 5 Andrew Short KTM +28.041

Team Green continues to dominate in the 250 class, with three Monster Energy Kawasaki riders sweeping the podium.

Martin Davalos took the holeshot and led the opening lap but teammate Blake Baggett took over on Lap 2, running away the rest of the way for his first win of the season.

That left second place up for grabs between Davalos and fellow Kawasaki rider Adam Cianciarulo, with Geico Honda’s Blake Wharton cemented in fourth place the entire race. Cianciarulo, a native of nearby Port Orange, Fla., would finish in second place and increase his lead in the 250 class East Regional standings.

2014 AMA Supercross: Atlanta 250 Eastern Regional Top Five Results Pos. Rider Manufacturer Time 1 Blake Baggett Kawasaki - 2 Adam Cianciarulo Kawasaki +16.748 3 Martin Davalos Kawasaki +17.117 4 Blake Wharton Honda +17.457 5 Justin Bogle Honda +18.117

The 2014 AMA Supercross season continues March 15 at Ford Field in Detroit, Mich. Villopoto heads to the Motor City with a 28-point lead over Dungey and 29 points over Roczen. With seven rounds remaining, there’s a lot of racing left, but if Villopoto continues to race as he did in Daytona, he’ll be looking at his fourth-straight championship.

450 Class Top Five Standings 250 East Class Top Five Standings Pos. Rider Manufacturer Points Rider Manufacturer Points 1 Ryan Villopoto Kawasaki 209 Adam Cianciarulo Kawasaki 94 2 Ryan Dungey KTM 181 Martin Davalos Kawasaki 87 3 Ken Roczen KTM 180 Blake Baggett Kawasaki 79 4 James Stewart Suzuki 157 Justin Bogle Honda 72 5 Justin Brayton Yamaha 155 Vince Friese Honda 61

[Source: AMA Supercross]

By Dennis Chung

See also: Honda CB500F, CB500X and CBR500R Recall Affects 6,954 Units in US, ‘Rides like a dream’, 2014 Daytona Bike Week Activities.