Find or Sell Motorcycles & Scooters in USA

2013 AMA Supercross San Diego Race Report

Mon, 11 Feb 2013

Davi Millsaps captured his second main event win of the season and expanded his AMA Supercross championship lead to 19 points with a wire-to-wire victory at Qualcomm Stadium in San Diego.

The Rockstar Energy Suzuki rider jumped ahead at the start for the holeshot and held that lead for the entire 20-lap race for the win. Finishing 2.386 seconds back was Team Honda Muscle Milk‘s Justin Barcia while Red Bull KTM‘s Ryan Dungey finished 10.300 seconds back for third place.

Following Millsaps through the first corner were RCH Dodge Suzuki rider Broc Tickle and TwoTwo Motorsports Honda‘s Chad Reed. Barcia joined the lead group and moved past Tickle for third spot on Lap 3. Millsaps, Reed and Barcia formed the lead pack for much of the first half of the race.

Reed hounded Millsaps looking for a chance to pass but made a mistake on Lap 9 that dropped him back to seventh. That error moved Barcia into second with Toyota JGR Yamaha‘s Justin Brayton moving into the top three. Barcia stayed close to Millsaps but was ultimately unable to catch the series leader.

“What can I say, when you’re able to pull the holeshot and ride 20 clean laps you make life a lot easier on yourself,” says Millsaps. “It’s been a great start to the season and everyone is working hard to make this happen. You have to be there every week in order to have a chance to win this thing (the championship), and we’re doing our best to keep it out front.”

With his second win, Millsaps leads all riders with 132 championship points. Sitting in second place is Dungey at 113 points while reigning champion Ryan Villopoto of Monster Energy Kawasaki is tied for third with Honda Muscle Milk’s Trey Canard.

The 2013 AMA Supercross season continues Feb. 16 at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

2013 AMA Supercross: San Diego Top Five Finishers Pos. Rider Manufacturer Time 1 Davi Millsaps Suzuki - 2 Justin Barcia Honda +02.386 3 Ryan Dungey KTM +10.300 4 James Stewart Suzuki +15.286 5 Chad Reed Honda +16.477 450cc Class Top Five Standings After Six Rounds Pos. Rider Manufacturer Points 1 Davi Millsaps Suzuki 132 2 Ryan Dungey KTM 113 3 Ryan villopoto Kawasaki 105 4 Trey Canard Honda 105 5 Chad Reed Honda 97

[Source: AMA Supercross]

By Dennis Chung

See also: KTM 390 Duke Confirmed for US for 2014, 2014 Honda CTX700 and CTX700N Revealed, the First in a New Series Focused on Comfort, Technology and Experience, Team Mugen Returning to TT Zero with Shinden 2.